Features 2012-2013

A look at the features and OSTs EXO members were on in 2012-2013. (The list gets longer as the years go by….)


“Dear My Family” Baekhyun, D.O., Luhan, and Chen, with BoA, Kangta, TVXQ, Yesung, Taeyeon, Jonghyun and Luna I AM. Original Soundtrack

“When we see people who’ve lost hope
We should become the great strength
for them to stand up again
Because they might need the hand of a family like me”

Written in 2011 and performed live during the SMTown Live World Tour in Seoul in 2012, this piece is one that brought the entirety of SM together. And judging from the lyrics above, is meant to be an uplifting song not only to those hearing it at the concert but for those singing it as well. It relates directly to their shared experience as trainees and now idols who may still face hardships. And the song speaks to their purpose, to bring strength and joy and a reason to smile to the greater public. It definitely puts the listener in a nostalgic frame of mind with the lone keyboard at the entrance of the voice and simple accompaniment throughout to focus on the emotions heard and felt by these powerful voices.

“Maxstep” Younique Unit (Kai and Luhan with Eunhyuk, Hyoyeon, Taemin and Henry) PYL Younique Volume 1

Without stopping until the end of the open world
we advance and advance
Until when are you going to get tricked
by the traps made for children
Will you get tricked?
If so, are you going to endure it?”

If you haven’t listened to this song yet, stop everything you’re doing and listen to it right now! Where is this kind of subunit now?! When will we have a collaboration like this again?! The dynamic energy in their dance/stage presence and punchy delivery of the no nonsense in your face lyrics! Their brazen screams!  I mean, DAMN! The beat just pulses through you. You get moments of pure EDM with the electronic effects then Rock with the guitar solos and rifts. It has the same sense of foreboding as “Two Moons”…buckle up and get ready!


“Goodbye Summer” f(x) (feat. D.O.) Pink Tape 

“The friend label
is a label that I got to hate
The feelings I’ve hid still remain
as a painful secret memory
The photos that can’t define
our relationship is a heartbreaking story
I’m sorry, summer, now goodbye, yeah”

Ahhh…so happy for D.O. that he got to sing with one of the groups he admires, f(x). And what an interesting feature this was. The live performance of this song is beautiful and the subject matter is truly heartbreaking and a story many angsty teens can relate to. The one that got away is the main theme in this piece and f(x) and D.O.’s delivery of the lyrics matches the sentiments. A boppy, sad love song with guitar, keys and percussion that is allows the vocals to shine. This song brings nostalgia and a sweet melancholy in the instrumentation and the delivery.

“Spectrum” SM the Performance (Lay and Kai with Yunho, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Minho, and Taemin) Spectrum (single)

“The heart hanging on my neck is a stolen dream
After being chased by a cruel light
Open the door with the broken key

We run and hide in a place
Where light doesn’t touch
There, we will find love

We run into the blinding
White darkness
I won’t ever let you go”

Yoooooooo!!!!! Admin Pisces S C R E A M E D out loud when she heard the beat drop of Spectrum. As if the beginning of this performance wasn’t enough to be excited about! Yet again this unit was a group set apart because of the energy that was matched by each and every member. Talk about a dance group! And the screaming is because it’s one of her favorite Zedd songs and what a cover this was. What a performance! We notice that K-Pop idols and groups continue to do covers similar to this…but to be honest, (at least from Admin Pisces’ perspective) we have yet to have a group like this do a cover like this again….while the lyrics of this song are repetitive and perhaps dull to the ears because of that…it is the driving force of this song’s instrumentation that gives the lyrics their weight. Ah, EDM.

“You Are A Miracle” EXO with 2013 SBS Gayo Daejeon Friendship Project You Are a Miracle (single) 

“You’re already doing it,
Just by being in the world
You are already someone’s
Miracle, a beautiful miracle
You will make someone smile today
We already know
What we need to love
It is beginning in all the places
You set your eyes on
Tomorrow will be even more dazzling
Because of you –
There can be no greater love

I am the light of world
You are the light of world
We are the light of world
We’re shining bright together”

This song is similar in intention as EXO’s “3.6.5.” The positive, feel-good message that you have a purpose and no matter what, you can achieve it. You are special. You are important. There is something for you to give on this Earth. There is something only you are meant to do. And you being here is enough. You being you is enough to bring the shared positive life energy needed to balance out all of what is so difficult about this life. Just by being you, light is brought into the world. And with a collab this strong in number…the feeling is sure to get across and have one shedding a tear. And in times like these….we need more songs like this.

White RecordsharpAPSignature

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s